After the biopsy

Swelling from front one day after biopsy - 31 May 2011

Swelling from side one day after surgery - 31 May 2011

I am still quite knocked around today.  Definitely by the anaesthetic.  Also by the swelling and pain. There is also a sore in the left corner of my mouth where the skin was somehow damaged during surgery and is scabbing over.

Yesterday was the first of many operations that will probably take place over a year.  They took a sample from the tumour for a biopsy, which just means examination under a microscope by a pathologist.  Dr S believes the pathologist at Westmead who will examine my sample is one of the best.

At the same time, they started my treatment.  Marsupialisation involves cutting into the tumour tissue, inserting a bismuth-iodine pack to prevent infection, and leaving the wound open to the inside of the mouth.  The tumour should shrink, slowly, on its own.

The good news is that they did not break my jaw during surgery, which they had thought a real chance.  So no metal plate inserted and no Frankenstein scar.  The not-so-good news is that they removed my back left tooth.  I discovered the hole with my tongue (and some surprise) this morning.  The tumour had eaten away its roots so they planned to remove it at a later date.  They must have changed their mind during the surgery.

Not up for mothers group today.  Between the drumming rain and the drumming pain, staying home in the warmth sounded a better option.  Our little girl is not feeling the best either.  She vomited at 10pm on the night before surgery and I was up cuddling her much of the night until about 2.30am.  Last night was not much better but I wasn’t sleeping very well and appreciated the cuddles.

