With apologies to Dr Seuss

I had brains in my head.
I had  feet in my shoes.
I could  steer myself any direction  I chose.
I was on your own. And I knew what I knew.
And I was the girl who’d decide where to go.

Except now  I don’t.

I’m all hung up in a prickle-ly perch. I’m left in a Lurch.  I’m coming down from the Lurch with an unpleasant bump. And the chances are, yes, that I’m in a Slump.

And when you’re in a Slump, you’re not in for much fun. Un-slumping yourself is not easily done.

I’ve come to a place where the streets are not marked. Some windows are lighted. But mostly they’re darked.

Should I turn left or right…or right-and-three-quarters? Or, maybe, not quite? Or go around back and sneak in from behind? Simple it’s not, I’m afraid I now find, for a mind-maker-upper to make up my mind.

And there are some, down the road between hither and yon, that can scare me so much I don’t t want to go on.

But on I must go though the weather be foul. On I must go though my enemies prowl. On I must go though the Hakken-Kraks howl. To face up to my problems whatever they are.

I’m getting mixed up, of course, as I already know. I’ll get mixed up with many strange birds as I go. So I’ll be sure when I step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act. Just never forget to be dexterous and deft. And never mix up my right foot with my left.

Today is my day!
My mountain is waiting.
I must get on my way!

(Adapted from Oh the Places You’ll Go!)

Comments

  1. Wow…that’s beautiful!

  2. MARLIES says:

    They are some pretty strong pain killers aren’t they…M

  3. Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try!

