Hello strangers!

I thought I’d check on the ol’ blog and see how y’all are doing.

Darren has shown me bits and pieces but I’ve now read most of it I think.  The boy can write.  Who knew! xx

It has been the longest week of my life.  Far tougher than giving birth – I’d have taken 48 hours of labour every day and twice on Sundays.  I’ve had to face some of my big fears and there was a 24 hour period on Saturday/Sunday when things felt grim.  The sleep deprivation (never more than 10-15 minutes at a stretch and 1-2 hours per night) and god-awful fentanyl were getting to me.

But this morning I taught myself to drink from a straw after yesterday’s baptism of eating with syringes.  (Yes, it looks and feels as strange as it sounds.)  I showered all by myself, with the nurse only wheeling me in and out and helping me with the robe.  (I still have this broken leg that is non-weight bearing for six weeks.)  Then I was disconnected from the machines so I walked up and down the corridor all by myself with my swanky walker.

So that’s just a little hello.  I’ll be back soon.

Comments

  1. It was fabulous to talk to you on the phone just now … you were crystal clear. I just cannot believe your daily rate of progress.

  2. Good to see you back and posting. Onwards and upwards.

  3. Noble Note says:

    Welcome back! I agree – the boy can write, and we are all so grateful to him. We’re over the moon that you’re doing as well as you are; I know how hard this must have been, you’ve been (and are) a champion.

  4. How clever are you??
    Did the shower feel good?
    Nice to freshen up.
    Sounds like those little red blood cells have helped heaps.
    Good luck and best wishes for tackling week number two.

  5. Wuhoo! Well done you. Glad you are making so much progress. I think doctors tell you the worst case scenario before surgery when it comes to recovery. That way, you will feel like you are doing better than expected which is encouraging and in turn helps you to remain active in your recovery. When Jane had her brain surgery, they told us it would be 10 days in hospital with 4 days of intensive are. In the end, she went in on Monday and was home on Thursday. It feels really good when you beat the doctor’s prediction.

    Eating & drinking with syringes is so much harder than you’d think. And slow and tedious! So well done for not running out of patience after 4 squirts.

    So well done. Keep up the good work but make sure you don’t push too hard. If you exhaust yourself in your drive to get out of the hospital, you might get a setback once you get home.

