Recovery in black & white

My husband Darren took the photograph on the evening of my 12 hour surgery to remove my jaw bone and tumour and to reconstruct my jaw using my calf bone.  My mum Julie took the other photos.

SURGERY DAY – Intensive Care Unit, hours after surgery finished

Day Zero ICU-Edit.jpg

RECOVERY DAY 1 – Intensive Care Unit

Day 2 - Kirsten portrait 1-Edit.jpg

RECOVERY DAY 2 – Intensive Care Unit

Day 3 - Kirsten 1-Edit.jpg

RECOVERY DAY 3 – Intensive Care Unit

Day 4 - Kirsten portrait 2-Edit.jpg

Day 4 - Kirsten portrait 3-Edit.jpg

RECOVERY DAY 4 – Intensive Care Unit

Day 5 - Kirsten portrait 1-Edit.jpg

RECOVERY DAY 7 – Patient Lounge on the ward, early afternoon

Day 8 - Kirsten 029-Edit.jpg

RECOVERY DAY 8 – Physiotherapy Studio

Day 9 - Kirsten 023-Edit.jpg

Comments

  1. Huzzah, photos! I knew you were going to get your lips collagened at the same time!

    The difference between day 4 and 7, and then eight, is amazing – aside from the swelling, a sign of rapid healing (which looks a lot like mine did on day 7, and yours was much more major – so well done, you beat me again), it’s great to see you cognisant.

    You weren’t quite up for my awkward jibes before I had to return to Melbourne, so I’ll see you soon, healed and well and symmetrical, with Jolie lips.

    Sh.x

  2. The photos really hit home whats actually happening to you, its great to have a visual so thank you so much for sharing!
    So bad, but my first thought was that people pay to have lips like those hahaha (angelia jolie eat your heart out!).
    Its fabulous you are home, in your own comfy bed, big hugs and kisses to you all!
    Tamms xx

  3. Seems to me the most remarkable aspect is the novel you’re penning on Days 1 and 2!

    Thanks for being so brave as to invite the world to your bedside.

    Keep up the great recovery work. It must be much more pleasant to be in an environment where you’re not being constantly barged in on. Oh wait, you have a toddler…

  4. The ‘novel’ was a fascinating exercise, Eleanor. But each day the voluminous sheets were ‘tidied up’ by the nursing staff! As you would recall from school, Kirsten, even in her semi-comatose state, was always quick to follow up. It was still ‘You said you were going to do x within two hours, but it has not happened. Why not? What is different?’ Even in the first day of recovery, the sheets were dotted with witicisms and self-deprecating humour. I think the barging in of this particular toddler, is something up with which she is prepared to put (to quote Winston Churchill).

