Little things

This week has pottered along.  Lots of little things, nothing big.  It’s that stage of the recovery process where there is much to be done, but the pay off is well in the future.

Each day, I need to massage my neck dissection scar for at least two sessions of ten minutes.  My leg (fibulectomy) and neck (tracheostomy) wounds have not fully scarred over yet, but I need to start massaging them too.  To that have now been added speech pathology exercises three times a day.  These involve stretching my jaw from side to side, stretching my jaw open, and chewing in a figure of eight, plus a separate swallowing exercise.  And I’m still having a sleep each day, usually around 10.15 when Alannah goes for her sleep or around midday when she’s not home.  (Yes, I sleep and eat like a one-year-old.)

Some days I am more thorough with my exercises than others, but I know that the more I do, the more I will benefit in the long term.

This week I also decided to dabble a bit in the kitchen.  I haven’t found the time or energy to be as adventurous in the kitchen over the past year as my pre-baby self had imagined I would.  Ha!   But we had lots of apples and oranges and I figured I’d give it a whirl.  One day I made apple and cinnamon muffins and another I made orange marmalade.

Not too shabby and it felt good to have something tangible to show for my day.

Comments

  1. Lovely to see you are heading in the right direction.
    The only way is up, baby.
    (Are you too young to remember Yazz?)

  2. Sure do!

